Posted by: Amanda | July 30, 2008

Bully Sticks


I am always surprised when people don’t know what bully sticks are, but I guess I shouldn’t be. At many stores, they are expensive, and they are, after all, just boring brown sticks in usually unremarkable packaging. It’s not the kind of thing that screams “Your dog will love me!”

But your dog will love them! These are the one chew my dogs never tire of, and I love them because they are healthy, long-lasting, and don’t stain.

Quick Info:
What are they? – They are made from bull penises, which are apparently irresistible to dogs. Who knew?
Do they stain? – Not at all
Do they smell? – Unfortunately
How long do they last? – It takes one of my super-chewer Dachshunds about two hours to finish one off. If you have a bigger dog, they likely won’t last quite as long.
Where to get them? – You can find bully sticks at almost any pet store. PetSmart and PetCo both have them. I buy mine from www.drsfostersmith.com/ or http://www.bullysticksfordogs.com/ because it’s a bit cheaper, usually about half the cost per piece if I buy them online, even with the cost of shipping figured in. I don’t recommend any particular brand; my dogs have liked all of them.
Misc. Info – Since these are made of 100% beef, they are also 100% digestible!
Misc. Info – May be too tough and hard for young puppies or very tiny dogs.

If you’re looking for a new chew for your dog that doesn’t stain and is completely digestible, give these a try!

Leave a Reply

Categories

